EV blog · for girls

Adventures in Tutu Making… and other fashions

This post is dedicated to Renee Hesson in thanks for being my first paying customer!  You rock!  I’m grateful for your support, in beginning this small business venture, beyond words.  You’re a great friend and I’m blessed to have you in my life.

As I mentioned in the previous post, I’m a big fan of the pettiskirt tutu, especially when it is made from softer materials.  The first one that I made was this black infant sized one.

Because the chiffon that I bought frays easily, every seam and hem had to be serged heavily, so it took twice as long to sew.  After I gifted it, I made one just like it for Phoebe.  I washed it in a delicates bag, but discovered after laundering it that the satin underlay is dry-clean only.  It shrivels into raisin form at the sight of water.  After this lesson learned, I found other synthetic materials to use, but still proved to have the soft feel that I wanted.

Leila got many compliments while wearing her tutu on a shopping adventure and the pride that I felt when she told inquiring minds that “my mommy made it” was overwhelming.

I’ve also made these outfits. (The black one was a gift for a very special little girl, named Mia (daughter of an equally special mother and friend, Karen.  I can’t wait to see pictures of her in it!)

(Pay no attention to cranky pants Phoebe.  She’s a little pissed about having to model for free.)

And this dress for this beautiful little girl, Sadie (daughter of my very good friend, Greta.  Thank you so much for allowing me to attempt this dress for Sadie and for allowing me to use this picture on the site!)

And I’ve sold a couple of shopping cart covers (I forgot to take pictures of them, though).

And these shirts for Phoebe are super easy to do, but Gigantore (as I like to call her) is outgrowing them faster than I can get them produced.

6 thoughts on “Adventures in Tutu Making… and other fashions

  1. Courtney, you’re so awesome! But, before you really decide you should know that tutu’s are $35 for serged chiffon (the edges are finished with a thread outline) or $25 for unserged nylon chiffon (it doesn’t fray, so doesn’t need to be outlined and thus, is 1/2 as difficult to make. I finally found a store that sells it online. Yay!). I know that these prices sound excessive (If I were buying them they’d seem excessive to me.), but I promise you that there is a surprising amount of fabric involved in making these tiny things. Also, the elastic waistline should yield wear from 3-12 months (on average). As far as Mia’s dress goes, I only have a pattern to make it in 2T… as of now. I’m in the process of learning to alter patterns and I was going to venture out this weekend to look for a smaller version anyway. I’ll let you know if I find one. FYI – Mia’s dress would be $25 for the top and ruffle skirt (fully lined) without the initial. I don’t have an embroidery machine yet, so I have to hand embroider the initials (takes me a whole day minus the time the kids distracting me takes up). With personalization it would be $35. OR (if you’re frugal like me) the Apple & Pear dress that I made for Renee’s baby is $15 (with 3/4 sleeves) or $12 (with cap sleeves). That could also be personalized in white with pink initial for $10 extra.
    Phew! Sorry that was winded. Please know that it is extremely difficult for me to put prices on these things, as I would LOVE to just make them all for FREE:) I really and truly hate it! I think it’s really why I haven’t set up my online store yet. Anywho, take it all in and get back to me. And no matter what, I truly appreciate your interest… no purchase necessary:) Thank you!

  2. Carol, these outfits are awesome! All I need is a little girl 🙂 I loved the shopping cart cover you made for Ashley. It was beautiful. You do a great job 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Heidi! I was nervous about the shopping cart cover because Doris didn’t seem excited about the material I picked out at first, but I think she liked it once it was finished. I was super tickled that she asked me to do it.
      P.S. We can always play dress up with Jacob and Nate. They won’t mind will they? Maybe we shouldn’t tell JB, though;)

  3. Carol, LOL… Definitely don’t want to tell JB that.. Ha HA.. The boys might not let that happen either. When they were little we used to be able to trick them. I once gave Jacob a little black dress and told him it was a batman cape. I don’t think they will fall for it anymore 🙂

    I loved the material for the cart cover. It was perfect 🙂 I think Doris liked it and she told everyone you made it. We were all impressed 🙂

  4. Ok. Definately let me know if you find a smaller pattern for the Mia (as I will now refer to it as!). I still want to attempt something (I think a pillowcase dress. What do you think?)so if I come across a smaller pattern I’ll let you know. I still would like a tutu with the unserged edge. I really need to learn these terms. And the apples and pear dress with the cap sleeve! Please!

Leave a Reply

